NaNoWriMo 2014

The year is getting on, leaves are changing colour before plummeting to their mossy ends, and I’m getting a real hankering for mulled wine. This can mean only one thing. It’s NaNoWriMo time! November is National Novel Writing Month. 30 days, 50, 000 words, 1.2 million coffee beans.

nano

Why should you do NaNoWriMo? You shouldn’t. Not if you don’t want to. Its very damaging socially. Your intermittent ideas will force you to keep very unreasonable hours. Plus all those dehydrating coffees do nothing for your skin. But here’s why I’m doing it anyway.

When new acquaintances ask me what I do, I veritably lie and loudly pronounce “I’M A WRITER DONCHA KNOW!”  I then realise that I haven’t said this at all but only thought it quite loudly to myself whilst emitting a low giggle. Consequently, my almost acquaintance unfairly concludes that I am quite insane and immediately moves on with their life, in a less deranged direction.

Sadly this is not made up and is loosely based on at least two real life experiences.

While my authoring claims may be considered to be incorrect, my means of employment having never involved the assemblage of words, I am a writer. Sort of. I write all the time. At home, when no-one’s alooking, but I’m still a writer.

However, because monies must be earned away from my writing desk, my writing time has slowly been squeezed out over the past few years (blogging and inane twitterings aside). NaNoWriMo is just brilliant because it allows you, nay commands you to focus solely on one idea. It gives you permission and the time to release that story that’s been jumping up and down on your imagination box, tapping away at your neurological pathways and invading all available orifices.

There’s nothing like a goal and a looming deadline to get stuff done. 30 days to write 50,000 words can be quite overwhelming. But broken down into daily chunks, it really is manageable. It helps if you have a plan. E.g. knowing beforehand what you want to write about and some idea of character and/ or plot is always a bonus. Some people draw up a schedule for each day, so that they don’t have to think too much. They can just write one scene and move on.

From what I’ve seen on twitter and the interwebs, real writers don’t wallow around in dozens of half formed ideas and self pity. They have one book. They talk about it, they promote it, they give talks based on the themes from that book. So, that is what I’m going to do this November. Just write. One book.For this reason, I’ll be taking a break from reviewing and blogging. Cue loud sobbing and despair from my hoards of readers. Calm down dear ones! A break will be occurring apart from one book blog tour that I’m involved with for this book on 12th November. I also have a couple of reviews in the pipeline for the end of October. But after that, no more! Until December when I have a very exciting post coming up. I’ll be reviewing Matt Gerrard’s novel Shadow and Shade. But I digress.

So, that’s why I will be NaNoWriMo-ing in November. Anybody else getting involved? Its very easy to sign up. Let me know. Maybe we can be writing buddies and bully each other into achieving that 1, 667 word count every day. I can be found on the NaNoWriMo website under the imaginative name of Alicia Simone. Look me up. What fun we’ll have.

Happy writing x

 

 

Leave a Reply

