Bouncers by John Godber

660x300_16

 

 

Directed by its writer John Godber and featuring a frightening array of northern talent, the definitive production of multi award-winning hit comedy BOUNCERS follows 2014 revival of Teechers to the LBT stage.

Lucky Eric, Judd, Les and Ralph are the original men in black, portraying an astonishing range of characters over the course of one eventful night in a Yorkshire disco in the 80s. All the gang are out on the town: the boys, the girls, the cheesy DJ, the late-night kebab man and the taxi home, all under the watchful eyes of the bouncers.

Sad, hilarious and full of humanity, BOUNCERS won the Los Angeles Drama Critics’ Circle Award an amazing seven times, and was named as one of the top 100 plays of the 20thcentury by the National Theatre.

http://www.thelbt.org

On Wednesday evening I visited my beloved Lawrence Batley Theatre in Huddersfield for to watch a performance of John Godber’s Bouncers. Having watched Teechers last year I was very excited to see another of Godber’s plays. I can confirm that I was not disappointed!

The four main characters, Lucky Eric, Judd, Les and Ralph, are played by four very talented actors. We duck and weave with them as they become the various groups of intoxicated clubbers of a Saturday eve. The whole play is very fun and chuckle worthy, but particular hilarity ensues when the fellas don their sparkly handbags and became the  young girls out for Rosie’s 21st. Tres amusement.

As the play is set in the 80s the music is obviously amazing. You’ve got your thriller, you’ve got you spin me round, round baby right round like a record baby …. Plus other classics that will be firmly lodged in your head until the very moment that you need to remember them for when you’re writing a review about them. *severe eye roll*

As previously stated, this play is v funny. However, before I recommend that you immediately purchase tickets for this play I feel it is my duty to warn you of one very disturbing toilet scene. Now, as a former bar attendant (Lloyds No.1 Bar, Huddersfield circa 2005-2007 before the indoors smoking ban. I smelled just wonderful after those shifts) I am under no illusions as to the thoroughly disgusting nature of the men’s toilets. It is only now that I have witnessed this particular scene in Bouncers, along with acknowledging sniggers from male members of the audience, that the full picture has been revealed to me. I have learned how truly grotesque men can be. I fear I can never unlearn this. There. You have been warned.

If you haven’t seen Bouncers, don’t panic! There is a list of remaining tour dates here.

Leave a Reply

